Blog Posts

The Birth House optioned for TV.

I’ve been dying to make this announcement for awhile now, and it looks like today’s the day. The news first went out this morning via Playback Online, (“Canada’s production, broadcasting and interactive media destination”) and this afternoon on TV-Eh? but for those not normally in the TV/Film news stream, (myself included) I’m posting the entire press release below. FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Sherry White, Kerri MacDonald and Omnifilm Entertainment adapting Ami McKay’s, THE BIRTH HOUSE. Vancouver, BC, Friday May 24th 2019 Omnifilm Entertainment has secured the rights to the #1 Canadian and international bestseller, THE BIRTH HOUSE (Penguin Random House Canada)—authored

Continue Reading

Cover Girl

When I first saw the above image, it was a bit strange for me to see a quartet of little Ami-s staring out from the cover art of my forthcoming memoir. It didn’t take long though, to realize that with a handful of black-eyed Susans and a kindergarten portrait from the 1970s, designer Kelly Hill had perfectly captured the spirit of the book. (As she always does.) Who’s that girl? I’d just turned five when I started kindergarten at Perry-Worth Elementary. I couldn’t wait to start school. I was learning to play the piano like my big sister, Lori, and

Continue Reading

Something different

Some people have been asking, “Why is Half Spent Was the Night so short? The simple answer is: “Because it was never meant to be long.” What I’d set out to do, from the very start, was write a short Yuletide tale—in the tradition of a Dickensian Christmas story, but with witches instead of ghosts. I’d wanted to create something different: —a small little book that could be tucked away in a pocket, —a tale that could be read in one sitting, either alone or aloud with friends by a crackling fire or dancing candlelight, —a story filled with ancient

Continue Reading

Before You Were Born

My mom mailed me that quote back in 2002 along with a beautiful red feather from a cardinal. I’d been working as a freelancer for CBC Radio, writing and producing radio documentaries for a couple of years and the stories I’d been making had been woven from interviews, personal experiences and archival research. Mom had sent me the two items after I’d confessed that I was thinking of writing a book based on a documentary I’d written about my house, a house that had once been home to the local midwife. The note and the feather were to serve as inspiration,

Continue Reading

Half Spent Was the Night

So I’ve written a little tale that will appear mid-October (because a certain magical raven didn’t want to stop talking, even when I repeatedly told him I had a different book to write.) “I have unfinished business,” he said. “Can’t it wait?” I asked. “No,” he insisted. I don’t want to give too much away, but as you can see from the beautiful cover art, the Witches of New York are back, along with Perdu in a Yuletide story that to me sits somewhere between A Christmas Carol and a Dr. Who Christmas special. I’ve always adored short stories that

Continue Reading

Reading Guide for Witches

The discussion questions posted below are for use by book clubs and individual readers alike. (SPOILER ALERT – the discussion questions focus on various characters, themes and plot points of the novel, The Witches of New York. If you haven’t read the book and don’t wish to have anything revealed ahead of time…don’t read past this point.) Description of the Novel: From the publishers: In the vein of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, comes a new novel from historical fiction maven Ami McKay that transports readers to the heart of Victorian New York, where three witches practice their craft—to the

Continue Reading

Site Footer